Road to the Show: Miles Head

Road to the Show – Miles Head

Colby Garrapy

Miles Head, 26th round pick of the Boston Red Sox in 2009, began his 2010 season withthe Lowell Spinners. Playing third base last season, Miles will be making the transition first base.Playing in 10 games for the GCL Sox last season, Miles batted .103. This will be Miles 2nd season in professional baseball.

You were drafted in the 26th round of the 2009 draft by the Red Sox. What was going through your head during the draft?

I was just excited for the opportunity to play professional baseball, especially for the Red Sox organization. Throughout the entire draft I was nervous. I had to wait 26 rounds. But even if I had failed to get selected I had a scholarship to play at the University of Georgia, so either way I was going to have a good opportunity.

Walk us through the process of signing with the Sox?

Well, I didn’t sign immediately with the Red Sox. It took about one and a half months for me to officially sign. The Sox wanted me to play some more and be able to watch me before making things official in August.

Your senior year of high school you batted .528, had 14 HR, and 48 RBI. Following your signing you reported to Florida where you joined the GCL Sox. What was the transition like for you going form high school ball to the professional level?

It was a completely new experience for me. I mean, you go from playing in high school and not traveling all the time, and being able to go home every night, to now consistently traveling with a bunch of new guys. I was nervous. But as soon as I got the hang of things I got comfortable and everything ran smoothly. Just takes time to adapt.

You’ve played some third base for the Sox, but you also caught in high school. Now in Lowell, you’re playing first. What position do you prefer, and where do you feel more comfortable playing?

I’m most comfortable at third base. I played third last year in GCL, and right before opening day in Lowell I was informed they wanted me to play first this season. It was a bit of a surprise to me because I’ve never played first base, but over time I will become more and more comfortable there.

Before signing with the Sox, what were planning on doing after graduation?

I had a scholarship to play at the University of Georgia where I was going to study Business Management.

What goals do you have for yourself this season? What areas of your game have you been working on the most to improve?

I’m focusing on batting over .300 for the season and just accomplishing the goals and expectations the Sox have for me during my time here in Lowell. The other big part of my game I’m focusing a lot of my attention on is my defense. With a new position, I really want to be able to become successful at the transition from third to first.

What are your impressions of the organization so far?

They treat us great. I mean, the overall image they represent and present to us is amazing. The coaches show all the players so much respect and it allows me to trust them with everything and anything. To go along with that, they do a great job teaching us and making our game fundamentally sound.

Growing up what player did you look up to the most?

Chipper Jones. Growing up in Georgia and being a Braves fan it only comes naturally.

Tell us something no one would know about you?

I play the guitar and I’m a huge 90’s rock music fan with Nirvana and such.

About lowellspinners

The Lowell Spinners are a Class A Affiliate of the Boston Red Sox. This blog is an outlet for fan-interaction with the front office. Let us know what you think!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 177 other followers

